Conceptual framework

To successfully conduct the neurological assessment, the clinician must understand what he or she is looking for. To do so, the clinician does not have to venture too far into the field of neurophysiology in which many lively debates occur in light of recent advances. Rather, a minimal background in the maturation and pathophysiology of muscle tone will allow the clinician to interpret his or her observations during the assessment. The clinician must also understand the importance of the cranial assessment, as cranial sutures and head circumference reflect both the increase in volume due to maturation and negative aspects associated with underlying brain damage. In this perspective, we propose a step by step approach, starting with a brief explanation of the neurophysiological mechanisms in motor activity followed by a functional analysis of motor pathways, all while accounting for maturation.

Medullar level: monosynaptic arc reflex

A motor unit refers to the α motoneuron located in the anterior horn of the spine and all the motor fibers it innervates. Muscle spindles are included in each motor unit, consisting of specialized fibers sensitive to muscle length. These intrafusal fibers are contained in a capsule and send information to the α motoneuron via afferences when the muscle stretches. The spindles sensitivity to stretch is regulated by γ motoneurons of the anterior horn that receive and send information to the spindles and thus maintain the effectiveness of the system according to the spindle’s preset length.

Myotatic reflex

The whole set, including the spindle afferences, the α motoneuron and its efferent neuron towards the muscle, constitutes the monosynaptic reflex arc. The activation of this system by stretching the spindle causes myotatic reflex or stretch reflex.

Reciprocal inhibition

When agonists contract, interneurons neighbouring the concerned α motoneuron send information towards α motoneurons of antagonist muscles that will then relax. This is the reciprocal inhibition phenomenon, which is essential to efficient movement.

Other influences

To complete this rather reductionist description, we must add:

  1. The fact that there is, in addition to spindles, other mechanoreceptors attached to tendons (sending afferent fibers, always polysynaptic). All mechanoreceptors provide proprioceptive information that will ensure control of posture and movement.
  2. The fact that the response will vary according to the speed of stretching: if stretching is slow, spindles send a flight of afferences to the spinal cord, but the signal is asynchronous and intermittent. Spindles adapt quickly to their new length and resume there basic activity. If stretching is fast and instantaneous, all spindles (a few hundred) simultaneously send a strong and synchronous signal to the spine. This strong afference stimulates the α motoneuron from the anterior horn and muscle fibers. The result of this stimulation is a muscle contraction, clearly visible to the clinician.
  3. The fact that the density of muscle spindles is not uniform: it is rather high in postural muscles, such as the triceps surae.

Central control over the monosynaptic arc

Brain structures and descending motor pathways

In the absence of supraspinal control, the myotatic reflex caused by each sudden muscle stretch makes rapid movement impossible (active or passive). Therefore, the clinician must have a solid understanding of how the brain controls spinal activity to allow rapid movement. Supraspinal control has two levels:

  • Brainstem and cerebellum level (also known as lower brain, the most archaic) generates subcorticospinal pathways including tracts from the tectum, tracts from the upper reticular formation upper (brain stem) and lower (bulbar), and tracts from the vestibular nuclei. All these tracts do not terminate directly at the α motoneuron in the anterior horn but at the interneurons. The lower system receives visual afferences through the tectospinal tract and vestibular afferences through the vestibulospinal tract. Finally, the cerebellum is connected to the lower system: it receives information from the spinal level and cortical level and transmits its messages through its connections with the brainstem. Together, all of these lower brain structures play a key role in the automatic control of posture and movement.
  • Hemispheric level (also known as upper brain) generates corticospinal pathways. Axons of motor neurons in frontal areas 4 and 6 terminate directly on the α motoneurons of the anterior horn. The majority of fibers cross the midline at the bulbar pyramids, the corticospinal cross tract. A small portion, consisting in the direct corticospinal tract, is linked to the body axis. Finally, the corticobulbar tract reaches the cranial nerves.

The upper system also includes basal ganglia (caudate nucleus, putamen and globus pallidus) as well as the thalamus, the sensory relay. The basal ganglia receive information from most cortical areas and transmit it to the cortex after relay in the thalamus. This loop, called motor loop, plays a major role in the control of voluntary movements. Corticospinal downward paths go through a narrowed area in the posterior arch of the internal capsule; this area is particularly sensitive to hypoxia-ischemia.

Activation and inhibition in the CNS

Spinal activity is constantly monitored by the lower brain, while the upper brain is monitored by facilitating or inhibiting stimulations on the α motoneuron of the anterior horn. The hemispheric level moderates the excitatory activity of the underlying formations, especially the upper reticular formation and vestibular nuclei. This permanent control over the spinal cord, and consequently the monosynaptic reflex arc, modulates postural control and enables smooth and precise movements.

Relevance of this simplistic dichotomy for clinicians

Such a simplistic dichotomy is justified by the functional specificity of the two systems.

  1. The lower system acts preferentially upon the antigravitic tone, including the extensor muscles of the axis and of the lower limbs, the flex tone of the upper and lower limbs, and primary reflexes.
  2. The upper system moderates the activity of the lower brain, therefore modulating antigravitic tone, relaxation of the flexor tone in limbs, and primary reflexes. This modulation acts on the quality of both gross and fine voluntary movements.

Some examples of clinical application

Based on these rudimentary concepts, the clinician can interpret the response of a tendon reflex, like the patellar reflex  : the hammer hit on the patellar tendon causes a rapid and brief stretch of the quadricep muscle. The response is an abrupt contraction that moves the leg forward. It is a myotatic reflex caused by a muscle stretch. When supraspinal control is intact, the muscle contraction is brief and γ  servocontrol allows the leg to return to the resting position. We will later address the excessive response when upper control is altered.

The clinician can also understand what muscle tone is : In the waking state, a muscle is never completely at rest. Thus, muscle tone said to be at rest is actually the result of a minimal contraction related to the state of mild excitation. Only during REM sleep, after curarisation or section of the posterior root this resting tone is suppressed, thus showing it depends on both peripheral and central influences. It is in this state of rest that passive muscle tone is explored. Slow passive segmental stretching by the assessor does not stimulate the spindles; it assesses the extensibility of the musculoligamentous system. The result of each maneuver is expressed either by an angle between two limb segments (the popliteal angle, for example), or in relation to an anatomical landmark (the elbow from the midline in the scarf sign maneuver, for example), or by the amplitude of a curve (in the trunk, for example). The rapid stretching maneuver allows the clinician to search for a possible dysfunctioning when the central control of the monosynaptic reflex arc is altered. In the case of a central originating pathology, spinal control is a priori normal; it is rather a supraspinal control dysfunctioning we are looking for.

Two anomalies may be described:

  1. a brief one (section 2 in figure), called phasic, in which the resistance to stretch will release (the sequence “resistance release” resembles the closure of a pocket-knife).
  2. The other (section 3 in figure), more prolonged, called tonic, in which the resistance to stretching persists, thus preventing any quick passive mobilization, meaning that the segmental movement can only be continued slowly.

In both cases, the observed anomaly is speed-dependent and therefore qualified as spastic. Central control maturation Organization of motor pathways: maturation and function, interactions with other pathways

“Upper brain” and “lower brain” have different maturation regarding precocity, speed, and upward or downward direction. All of these features, joined with the functional specificity of the two systems is summarized in the illustration of postural tone during fetal life until the second year.

Maturation of the lower system (represented by letter A) shows how the righting reaction in the upright position develops in a caudo-cephalic manner between 28 and 40 weeks, due to the ascending maturation of corresponding bundles. Later on, from 32 weeks, maturation of the upper system (represented by letter B) will modulate the postural responses in a downward manner, allowing successively head control, sitting, then standing position, or in other words, acquisition of motor skills. From the age of approximately 3 months, the primary reflexes (under lower brain control) will be integrated through maturation of the higher system, meaning that they will essentially disappear for the clinician.

The following figure shows in parallel the evolution of passive muscle tone (assessed on posture and segmental extensibility in limbs) and active muscle tone in standing position. During the last weeks of fetal life (zone 1), flexor muscles tone first appears in the lower limbs, then a strong quadriflexion takes place around term, at 40 weeks, as shown in Zone 2 of the figure. In the first year of life (shown in area 3 of the figure), the passive tone is released from the top down under the influence of the higher brain, beginning at the upper limbs and then the lower limbs.

It may be noted that:

  1. The frog-like posture (upper limbs extended, lower limbs bent) is physiological during two periods, at 34 weeks in zone 1 and around 3-4 months postpartum in zone 3.
  2. The essential motor acquisitions of standing and walking (average 13 months) coincide with the period of maximum physiological hypotonia (8-15 months). Thus the evaluation can only be interpreted in regard to the age of the child. The gap between early maturation of the lower system and the late maturation of the upper one explains semiotics: unspecific at first then becoming more specific with the maturation of the upper system.
  3. Regarding the body axis tone, the clinician understands, due to the staggered maturation of both systems, that the predominance of the physiological antigravitic tone until the term is no longer in the early postnatal months: the predominance of extensor muscle tone therefore becomes one of the earliest signs of upper brain damage.

Understanding the lesional levels according to anatomophysiological data

Theoretical expectations in the neuromotor chapter are summarized according to the injury level

A lesion of the superior system leads to spasticity:

  • Abnormal response to rapid stretch
  • Clonus, meaning repeated contractions in response to an on-going stretch
  • Hypertonia, meaning limited extensibility based on normal values ​​for age
  • Sharp deep tendon reflexes, polycinetic, diffused

An injury to the lower system leads, depending on the lesional level, either to rigidity (ongoing resistance to passive stretch, stiffness not speed dependent), or global hypotonia.

Abnormal movements grouped under the term dyskinesia reflect impairment of the basal ganglia and are most often associated with either spasticity or rigidity. Dystonia is often added to spasticity, due to the lack of inhibition in the spinal system. If reciprocal inhibition is altered, the co-contraction of agonists and antagonists parasite voluntary movement. Muscle weakness is always associated, with varying degrees, to the disorders mentioned above. For example, weakness is often more troublesome than spasticity itself in walking. Although rarely mentioned in early childhood because it is difficult to measure, it remains consistent with the use of the term cerebral palsy to refer to all motor disorders of central origin in young children. Finally, musculotendinous shortenings and secondary deformities due to tone disorders make it more difficult to detect spasticity and dystonia. The facts are actually more complex because of the immaturity of the brain during HI insult.

Two main conditions may be described:

  • HI encephalopathy of the newborn at term

Lesions take place in the cortex and/or the white hemispheric matter, basal ganglia. The lesions are most often visible with conventional MRI; associated cognitive and sensory impairments, and even epilepsy, are frequent.

  • The premature newborn encephalopathy

In premature infants, the lesions are mainly located in the periventricular white matter, due to elective sensitivity to hypoxia of immature oligodendrocytes. As mentioned previously, the posterior arm of the internal capsule is particularly vulnerable, explaining the classic condition of the premature infant with spastic diplegia almost always associated with impaired visual function. The typical image is that of a dilatation of the lateral ventricles secondary to atrophy of the periventricular white matter. However, the lesions are often more diffused: they affect as well the cortex, basal ganglia, thalamus and cerebellum. Finally, the more extreme prematurity (ELBV) is, the more disrupted the future child development will be. This disorganization is difficult to pinpoint with the neurological assessment during the first years of life.  More complex imaging techniques are necessary to aid in their identification. Clinically, this disorganization will gradually be revealed in different areas of brain function.

In conclusion, pediatricians feel easily lost amongst those complex issues. Conflicts between specialists, the absence of consensus on definitions and the lack of an animal model lead to an uncomfortable clinical approach. These pathophysiological bases have been simplified to the extreme in order to increase the confidence of each clinician in their own diagnostic skills.

Consequences of CNS lesions on cranial growth

Cranial growth in the fetus and young child depends on two factors: the “active” growth (genetically programmed, which explains the relevance of measuring the head circumference of both parents) but also the “passive” growth, which allows the cranial vault to follow the tremendous expansion of the cerebral hemispheres. This passive growth, made possible by the architecture of the skull which consists of separated parts linked by membranous sutures, allows us to comprehend why the cephalic growth measure and palpation of sutures have neurological meaning.

All together the skull bones form a box that protects the CNS. Only the bones forming the cranial vault are palpable: the frontal bone (F) in front, the occipital bone (O) behind, the parietal (P) and temporal (T) bones laterally; the sphenoid and ethmoid, forming the anterior and middle base of the skull. Head circumference (HC) reflects brain growth. It is obtained by measuring the largest occipitofrontal circumference and then comparing the value obtained with measurement values from other children of the same age and gender on a growth curve. We add to this measure the clinical evaluation of cranial sutures. It is important to remember that the bones of the skull are not yet tightly fixed to one another in the neonate or young infant.

In the newborn, the edges of the bones are nearly straight, and membranous spaces are easily perceived with a finger. Most sutures will become indented, such as the sagittal suture between the two parietal bones, the coronal suture between the parietal and frontal bones, and the metopic suture between the left and right sides of the frontal bone. The suture between the parietal and temporal bones (seen above the ear) is called “squamous” because it is not indented but bevelled.

Sutures ossify progressively and very slowly until about 3 years, in the following order: first metopic, then sagittal, coronal, lambdoid and finally squamous. Until then, and especially during the perinatal period, the mobility of the skull bones is such that the distention of sutures allows an increase of skull volume in cases of intracranial hyper-pressure, and is easily perceived with a finger as a membranous space between two flat bones.

Conversely, an insufficient intracranial pressure is accompanied by an overlapping of sutures, perceived by the finger as a ridge.

The identification of these distension and overlapping phenomena enriches the simple measurement of head circumference and palpation of fontanels.

Leave a Reply

Fondements de la méthode

Pour une bonne pratique de l’évaluation neurologique, le clinicien doit comprendre ce qu’il cherche. Pour ce faire, il n’a pas à s’aventurer trop loin dans le domaine de la neurophysiologie, domaine d’ailleurs où les débats sont vifs en fonction des avancées récentes ; un bagage minimum concernant la maturation et la physiopathologie du tonus musculaire lui permettra d’interpréter ce qu’il observe au cours de son évaluation. Il doit également comprendre l’intérêt de l’examen de la boîte crânienne ; sutures et périmètre crânien reflèteront à la fois l’augmentation de volume liée à la maturation et les aspects négatifs associés à une lésion cérébrale sous-jacente. Dans cette perspective, nous vous proposons une démarche pas à pas, commençant avec une brève explication des mécanismes neurophysiologiques au niveau de l’unité motrice pour évoluer vers une analyse fonctionnelle des voies motrices en tenant compte de la maturation.

Niveau médullaire : arc monosynaptique

Une unité motrice désigne le motoneurone α situé dans la corne antérieure de la moelle épinière et l’ensemble des fibres motrices qu’il innerve. Des fuseaux neuromusculaires sont inclus dans chaque unité motrice, ils sont constitués de fibres spécialisées sensibles à la longueur du muscle. Ces fibres dites intrafusales, contenues dans une capsule, envoient des informations au motoneurone α via les afférences Ia en cas d’étirement du muscle.  La sensibilité des fuseaux à l’étirement est réglée par les motoneurones γ de la corne antérieure qui reçoivent et envoient des informations aux fuseaux et maintiennent ainsi l’efficacité du système selon une longueur préprogrammée du fuseau.

Réflexe myotatique

Les afférences Ia font synapse avec le motoneurone α (et aussi avec les nombreux interneurones du réseau segmentaire spinal). L’ensemble incluant les afférences venues du fuseau, le motoneurone α et son axone efférent vers le muscle constitue l’arc réflexe monosynaptique. L’activation de ce système par étirement du fuseau provoque le réflexe myotatique ou réflexe d’étirement (stretch reflex).  

Inhibition réciproque

Lorsque les agonistes se contractent, les interneurones voisins du motoneurone α concerné envoient des informations vers les motoneurones α des muscles antagonistes qui vont se relâcher. C’est le phénomène d’inhibition réciproque, indispensable pour l’efficacité du mouvement.

Autres facteurs d’influence Pour compléter cette description très réductionniste, il faut ajouter:

  1. le fait qu’il y a, à côté des fuseaux d’autres mécanorécepteurs venant des tendons (envoyant des fibres afférentes toujours polysynaptiques) et du tissu conjonctif périarticulaire. L’ensemble des mécanorécepteurs apporte des informations proprioceptives qui vont assurer le contrôle de la posture et du mouvement.
  2. le fait que la réponse varie avec la vitesse de l’étirement. Si l’étirement est lent, les fuseaux envoient une volée d’afférences vers la moelle, mais le signal est intermittent et asynchrone. Les fuseaux s’adaptent rapidement à leur nouvelle longueur et reprennent leur activité de base. Si l’étirement est rapide, instantané, tous les fuseaux à la fois (quelques centaines) envoient un signal vigoureux et synchrone vers la moelle. Cette forte afférence stimule le motoneurone α de la corne antérieure et les fibres musculaires. Le résultat de cette stimulation est une contraction musculaire cliniquement visible.
  3. le fait que la densité en fuseaux d’un muscle n’est pas uniforme. Les muscles posturaux en sont particulièrement riches tel le triceps sural.

Contrôle central sur l’arc monosynaptique

Structures cérébrales et voies motrices descendantes 

En l’absence d’un contrôle supraspinal, le réflexe myotatique provoqué par chaque étirement brusque d’un muscle rend impossible tout déplacement rapide (passif ou actif). Le clinicien doit donc bien comprendre comment le cerveau vient contrôler l’activité spinale pour permettre un mouvement rapide. Le contrôle supraspinal comporte deux niveaux :

  • le niveau tronc cérébral et cervelet, (qui sera qualifié de cerveau inférieur, le plus archaïque) générant les voies dites sous-cortico-spinales incluant des faisceaux issus du tectum, des faisceaux issus de la formation réticulée supérieure (protubérantielle) et inférieure (bulbaire) et des faisceaux issus des noyaux vestibulaires. L’ensemble de ces faisceaux ne s’articule pas directement sur le motoneurone α de la corne antérieure mais sur les interneurones. Le système inférieur reçoit des afférences visuelles par l’intermédiaire du faisceau tecto-spinal et des afférences vestibulaires par le faisceau vestibulo-spinal. Enfin le cervelet est branché sur le système inférieur : il reçoit des informations du niveau spinal et du niveau cortical et transmet ses messages par l’intermédiaire de ses connexions avec le tronc cérébral. L’ensemble de ces structures du cerveau inférieur joue un rôle essentiel dans le contrôle automatique de la posture et du mouvement.
  • le niveau hémisphérique, (qui sera qualifié de cerveau supérieur), générant les voies dites corticospinalesLes axones des neurones moteurs des aires frontales 4 et 6 se terminent directement sur le motoneurone α de la corne antérieure. La majeure partie des fibres croise la ligne médiane au niveau des pyramides bulbaires, c’est le faisceau cortico-spinal croisé. Une petite partie, le faisceau cortico-spinal direct, intéresse l’axe corporel. Enfin le faisceau cortico-bulbaire rejoint les nerfs crâniens.

Le système supérieur comprend également les ganglions de la base (noyau caudé, putamen et globe pâle) et le thalamus, relais sensitif. Les ganglions de la base reçoivent des informations de la plupart des aires corticales et les transmettent au cortex après relai dans le thalamus. Cette boucle, dite boucle motrice, joue un rôle majeur dans le contrôle des mouvements volontaires. Les voies cortico-spinales dans leur trajet descendant passent dans une zone rétrécie au niveau du bras postérieur de la capsule interne ; cette zone est particulièrement sensible à l’hypoxie-ischémie.

Influences excitatrices et inhibitrices exercées par le SNC

L’activité spinale est contrôlée en permanence par le cerveau inférieur et le cerveau supérieur, par des stimulations facilitatrices ou inhibitrices sur le motoneurone α de la corne antérieure. Le niveau hémisphérique modère l’activité excitatrice des formations sous-jacentes, en particulier de la réticulée protubéran  tielle et des noyaux vestibulaires. C’est ce contrôle permanent sur la moelle, et conséquemment l’arc réflexe monosynaptique, qui va moduler le contrôle postural et permettre fluidité et précision des mouvements.

Tiré de Amiel-Tison C, Gosselin J. Pathologies neurologiques périnatales et leurs conséquences. Paris: Masson, 2010.

Intérêt de cette dichotomie simpliste pour le clinicien Cette dichotomie simpliste est justifiée par la spécificité fonctionnelle des deux systèmes:

  1. Le système inférieur agit préférentiellement sur le tonus antigravitaire, donc les muscles extenseurs de l’axe et des membres inférieurs, le tonus en flexion des MS et MI ainsi que sur l’expression des réflexes primaires.
  2. Le système supérieur modère l’activité du cerveau inférieur ; il module donc le tonus antigravitaire, la relaxation du tonus en flexion des membres, l’expression des réflexes primaires. Cette modulation agit sur la qualité de la motricité volontaire, grossière et fine.

Quelques exemples d’application clinique

Sur la base de ces notions rudimentaires, le clinicien peut interpréter la réponse d’un réflexe ostéotendineux, le rotulien par exemple. Le coup de marteau sur le tendon rotulien provoque un étirement rapide et bref du muscle quadriceps. La réponse est une contraction brusque qui déplace la jambe vers l’avant. C’est un réflexe myotatique provoqué par un étirement musculaire.  Lorsque le contrôle supraspinal est intact, la contraction musculaire est brève et le servocontrôle γ permet le retour à la situation de repos. On verra plus loin la réponse excessive lorsque le contrôle supérieur est altéré.

Le clinicien peut aussi comprendre ce qu’est le tonus musculaire. En état d’éveil, un muscle n’est jamais totalement au repos. Ainsi, le tonus musculaire dit de repos résulte d’une contraction minimale liée à l’état de légère excitation. Seul un stade de sommeil paradoxal, le curare, ou une section de la racine postérieure supprime ce tonus de repos, ce qui montre bien qu’il dépend à la fois d’influences périphériques et d’influences centrales. C’est dans cette situation de repos que le tonus musculaire passif est exploré : les étirements segmentaires passifs lents faits par l’évaluateur ne stimulent pas les fuseaux ; ils évaluent l’extensibilité du système musculo-ligamentaires. Le résultat de chaque manœuvre est exprimé soit par un angle entre deux segments de membre (l’angle poplité par exemple), soit par rapport à un point de repère anatomique (le coude par rapport à la ligne médiane pour la manœuvre du foulard par exemple), soit par l’amplitude d’une incurvation (au niveau du tronc par exemple). L’étirement rapide recherche une anomalie possible lorsque le contrôle central sur l’arc réflexe monosynaptique est altéré. En cas de pathologie d’origine centrale, le contrôle spinal est à priori normal, c’est une anomalie du contrôle supraspinal qui est recherchée.

Deux anomalies sont décrites, l’une brève, dite phasique (2), dans laquelle la résistance à l’étirement va « lâcher » (séquence résister–lâcher qui rappelle la fermeture d’un couteau de poche), l’autre plus prolongée, dite tonique (3), dans laquelle la résistance à l’étirement persiste et empêche toute mobilisation passive rapide, c’est-à-dire que le déplacement segmentaire ne peut être poursuivi que lentement. Dans les deux cas, l’anomalie observée est vitesse-dépendante et donc qualifiée de spastique.

Maturation du contrôle central

Organisation des voies motrices : fonction et maturation, interactions avec les autres voies

«Cerveau supérieur » et « cerveau inférieur » ont une maturation différente quant à la précocité, la rapidité, la direction ascendante ou descendante. L’ensemble de ces caractéristiques jointes à la spécificité fonctionnelle des deux systèmes est résumé par l’illustration du tonus postural au cours de la vie fœtale et jusqu’à la 2année.

La maturation du système inférieur (identifiée par la lettre A) montre comment la réaction de redressement en position debout se développe de façon caudocéphalique entre 28 et 40 semaines, en rapport avec la maturation ascendante des faisceaux correspondants.  Plus tard, à partir de 32 semaines, la maturation du système supérieur (identifiée par la lettre B) va moduler ces réactions posturales de façon descendante permettant successivement le contrôle de la tête, de la station assise puis de la station debout c’est à dire les acquisitions de la motricité grossière. Dès l’âge de 3 mois environ, les réflexes primaires (sous le contrôle du cerveau inférieur) vont être intégrés par la maturation du système supérieur, c’est à dire disparaître pour le clinicien.

La figure suivante indique parallèlement l’évolution du tonus musculaire passif (évalué sur la posture et l’extensibilité segmentaire des membres) et du tonus musculaire actif, dans l’exemple ici en position debout. Au cours des dernières semaines de la vie fœtale (zone 1), le tonus en flexion apparaît d’abord au niveau des membres inférieurs puis s’installe une forte quadriflexion autour du terme de 40 semaines, soit dans la zone 2 de la figure. Dans la première année (représentée dans la zone 3 de la figure), le tonus passif se relâche de façon descendante sous l’effet du cerveau supérieur, d’abord les membres supérieurs puis les membres inférieurs.

On peut remarquer que:

  1. la posture dite de batracien (MS étendus, MI fléchis) est physiologique à deux périodes, à 34 semaines dans la zone 1 et autour de 3-4 mois postnatals dans la zone 3
  2. l’acquisition motrice essentielle de station debout et marche (moyenne 13 mois) coïncide avec le maximum de l’hypotonie dite physiologique (8 à 15 mois). L’examen ne peut donc être interprété qu’en fonction de l’âge de l’enfant. Le décalage entre maturation précoce du système inférieur et plus tardive du système supérieur explique la sémiologie : d’abord peu spécifique puis se précisant avec la maturation du système supérieur. Pour ce qui concerne le tonus de l’axe corporel, le clinicien comprend, en raison de la maturation décalée des deux systèmes, que la prédominance du tonus antigravitaire physiologique jusqu’à l’âge du terme, ne l’est plus dès les premiers mois postnatals : la prédominance du tonus des muscles extenseurs devient alors un des signes les plus précoces d’une lésion du cerveau supérieur.

Compréhension des niveaux lésionnels en fonction des données anatomophysiologiques

Les attentes théoriques dans le chapitre neuromoteur sont résumées en fonction du niveau lésionnel.

Une lésion du système supérieur conduit à une spasticité:

  • Réponse anormale à l’étirement rapide
  • Clonus i.e. contractions répétées en réponse à un étirement maintenu
  • Hypertonie i.e. extensibilité limitée en fonction des valeurs normales pour l’âge
  • Réflexes ostéotendineux vifs, polycinétiques, diffusés

Une lésion du système inférieur conduit, selon le niveau lésionnel,  soit à une rigidité (résistance continue à l’étirement passif, non vitesse dépendante) soit  à une hypotonie globale.

Les mouvements anormaux groupés sous le terme de dyskinésie témoignent d’une atteinte des ganglions de la base ; ils sont le plus souvent associés soit à une spasticité, soit à une rigidité. La dystonie s’ajoute souvent à la spasticité ; elle résulte également d’un manque d’inhibition sur le système spinal. Si le mécanisme de contrôle du cerveau supérieur sur le phénomène spinal qu’est l’inhibition réciproque est altéré, la cocontraction des agonistes et antagonistes parasite le mouvement volontaire. La faiblesse musculaire est toujours associée à différents degrés aux troubles sus-mentionnés ; cette faiblesse musculaire est souvent plus gênante que la spasticité elle-même dans la marche par exemple.  Elle est cependant peu mentionnée au cours de la petite enfance car difficilement mesurable. Il n’en reste pas moins qu’elle est cohérente avec l’utilisation du terme de paralysie cérébrale pour désigner l’ensemble des troubles moteurs d’origine centrale chez le jeune enfant. Enfin les raccourcissements musculotendineux et les déformations secondaires aux troubles du tonus rendent plus difficile la recherche de spasticité et dystonie. La réalité des faits est plus complexe du fait de l’immaturité du cerveau lors de l’insulte HI. Deux tableaux sont actuellement décrits :

  • Encéphalopathie HI du nouveau-né à terme 

Les lésions intéressent le cortex et/ou la substance blanche hémisphérique, les noyaux gris centraux. Les lésions sont le plus souvent très visibles en IRM conventionnelle ; les atteintes associées, cognitives, sensorielles,  ou encore l’épilepsie, sont fréquentes.

  • Encéphalopathie du nouveau-né prématuré 

Chez le prématuré, les lésions sont principalement localisées dans la substance blanche périventriculaire, par sensibilité élective à l’hypoxie des oligodendrocytes immatures. Tel que mentionné précédemment, le bras postérieur de la capsule interne est particulièrement vulnérable, expliquant le tableau classique de la diplégie spastique du prématuré intéressant surtout les membres inférieurs et presque toujours associée à des troubles de la fonction visuelle. L’image caractéristique est celle d’une dilatation des ventricules latéraux secondaire à l’atrophie de la substance blanche périventriculaire. Cependant, les lésions sont très diffuses : elles touchent le cortex, les noyaux gris centraux, le thalamus et le cervelet. Enfin la désorganisation du développement ultérieur est d’autant plus majeure que la prématurité est plus extrême. Désorganisation difficilement repérable par l’évaluation neurologique des premières années ; des techniques d’imagerie plus complexes sont nécessaires pour leur identification. Cliniquement, cette désorganisation se révèlera progressivement dans différents domaines de la fonction cérébrale. En conclusion, on peut comprendre pourquoi beaucoup de pédiatres évitent d’aborder des sujets aussi complexes que la physiopathologie des anomalies du développement : les conflits entre spécialistes, la difficulté du consensus sur les définitions, le manque de modèle animal rendent l’approche clinique inconfortable. C’est pour améliorer la confiance de chacun dans ses compétences diagnostiques que ces bases physiopathologiques ont été simplifiées à l’extrême.

Conséquences des lésions du SNC sur la croissance crânienne

La croissance crânienne chez le fœtus et le jeune enfant dépend de deux phénomènes: la croissance dite « active » (programmée génétiquement d’où l’intérêt de mesurer le PC des deux parents) mais aussi sur la croissance dite « passive » qui permet à la voute crânienne de suivre la formidable expansion des hémisphères cérébraux. Cette croissance passive, rendue possible par l’architecture du crane en pièces détachées réunies par des sutures membraneuses permet de comprendre pourquoi la mesure de la croissance céphalique et la palpation des sutures ont une signification « neurologique ».

L’ensemble des os du crâne constitue une boîte qui assure la protection osseuse du SNC. Seuls les os constituant la voûte crânienne sont palpables: l’os frontal en avant, l’os occipital en arrière, les os pariétaux et temporaux latéralement; le sphénoïde et l’ethmoïde, formant les parties antérieure et moyenne de la base du crâne. Le périmètre céphalique (PC) reflète la croissance cérébrale. Il est obtenu par la mesure de la plus grande circonférence occipito-frontale. La comparaison de la valeur obtenue avec celle des enfants de même sexe et de même âge sur une courbe de croissance.   À cette mesure doit être ajoutée l’évaluation clinique des sutures crâniennes. Il est important de se rappeler que les os du crâne ne sont pas encore solidaires les uns des autres chez le nouveau-né, le crâne étant constitué de pièces mobiles réunies par des sutures. Chez le nouveau-né, les bords osseux sont à peu près rectilignes et les espaces membraneux sont facilement perçus au doigt. La plupart des sutures deviendront « dentelées » telles que la suture sagittale entre les deux pariétaux, la suture coronale entre pariétaux et frontal, la suture métopique entre les deux parties droite et gauche du frontal. La suture entre pariétal et temporal (perçue au-dessus du pavillon de l’oreille) est appelée «squameuse» car elle n’est pas dentelée mais en biseau.

Les sutures s’ossifient progressivement très lentement jusqu’à 3 ans environ, selon l’ordre suivant: métopique d’abord, puis sagittale, coronale, lambdoïde et enfin squameuses. Jusque là et surtout à la période périnatale, la mobilité des os du crâne est telle que la disjonction des sutures permet l’augmentation de volume du crâne en cas d’hyperpression intracrânienne, distension facilement perçue au doigt comme un espace membraneux entre deux os plats.

À l’inverse, une insuffisance de pression intracrânienne s’accompagne d’un chevauchement des sutures, chevauchement perçu au doigt comme une crête, un rebord.

L’identification de ces phénomènes de distension ou de chevauchement enrichit beaucoup la simple mesure du périmètre céphalique et la palpation des fontanelles.

Laisser un commentaire