Introduction

A significant number of infants are at risk of neurodevelopmental disorders as a result of a difficult pregnancy due to various health problems of the mother or the fetus, or as a result of complications during delivery or the days that follow. Uteroplacental insufficiency is part of these perinatal conditions that could cause hypoxic-ischemic brain damage and thus could interfere with child development. Whatever the perinatal pathology responsible for hypoxic ischemic phenomena might be, the arising developmental disorders can be grouped into two broad categories according to their severity and time of emergence:

  • severe impairments, usually appearing early: cerebral palsy, sensory impairments, mental deficiency, epilepsy
  • minor and moderate impairments, generally appearing later: language or motor coordination difficulties, visual-spatial difficulties, attention deficit disorders, behavioural disorders

Severe disorders, which are usually of low prevalence, may generally be identified within the first two years of life. Moderate and minor disorders are far more prevalent; they generally become apparent in the preschool or primary school years as performance requirements gradually increase. Indeed, these requirements solicit higher brain functions for which the maturation and organization occur at a later stage.

In current follow-up practices for children in this group, the clinician is often uncertain, passively waiting, in the absence of reliable clue to late outcome, particularly when it comes to developmental disorders that appear later on. Developmental evaluations and functional assessments allow to confirm or deny the presence of specific skills depending on the age of the child. However, this approach has a low predictive value during early childhood for future problems. To overcome this methodological pitfall, we suggest the use of a neurological assessment as it allows the detection of signs which are of both early emergence and persistence. Neurological signs become markers that allow the establishment of a link between perinatal events and future developmental challenges. They also help to plan targeted early interventions, i.e active anticipation rather than late identification.

In the context of the PIAF study, and in a broader sense of any other follow-up of children at risk, we recommend using the neurological evaluation in combination with a developmental assessment such as the Bayley Scales of Infant Development – III . Such an approach permit identification not only of children with severe developmental impairments but also those whose neurocranial markers indicate high risk of minor or moderate disorders occurring later.

Recent research results show evidence that minor or moderate neurocranial signs provide a link between perinatal events and future developmental disabilities. Depending on the child’s profile and on follow-up objectives, a functional assessment may complement this first evaluation process; the Gross Motor Function Classification System, the Manual Abilities Classification System or even the MIF-môme or the PEDI are the most frequently used functional measures. This training module is mainly focused on neurological assessment at term age, and up to 6 years.

Diversity of clinical exploration methods of brain function

A large number of neurological assessment methods have been previously proposed. Some of these methods focus on neurobehavioral aspects, mainly documenting the adaptability and self-regulatory capacity of the infant. Others are based on a meticulous analysis of the child’s motor skills. Such methods can be restricted by a specific age stratum or by allowing for only a partial analysis of brain function. Consequently, in the context of a follow-up, switching to a different method becomes inevitable, and such a switch is likely to cause difficulties in interpreting developmental trajectories.

The method that we propose, the Amiel-Tison and Gosselin neurological assessment from birth to 6 years, offers a fairly broad analysis of brain functions from the neonatal period until the age of 6 years. Such an approach ensures a methodological continuity throughout follow-up and thus facilitates interpretation based on repeated evaluations. This assessment focuses on the exploration of muscle tone, both passive and active (especially in the assessment around the age of term), allowing to detect the emergence of spasticity or others tone abnormalities. It also includes an assessment of cranial growth based not only on the measurement of head circumference but also on the examination of cranial sutures. Therefore, this is neither just a physical examination nor just a developmental assessment.

Historical aspects of the method

This 0-6 Instrument has an history. Based initially on the framework developed by André Thomas concerning muscle tone and on the method for analytical evaluation of passive muscle tone in limbs developed by his successors (Stamback and Ajuriaguerra, 1958 St. Anne Dargassies, 1982), it has evolved over the years. Successive steps in the elaboration of the assessment presented here can be summarized as follows:

  1. Identifying different components of axial tone in normal and abnormal development (Amiel-Tison, 1974; Amiel-Tison, et al, 1977).
  2. Didactic description of each selected item and interpretation of results in terms of neurological maturation within the first year of life, including a form to gather monthly data of young children (Amiel-Tison, 1976, Amiel- Tison and Grenier, 1980, 1985).
  3. Conceptual distinction between permanent neurological abnormalities associated with brain damage and disabilities evolving with maturation (Amiel-Tison and Stewart, 1989).
  4. Interpretation of normal and abnormal results (Amiel-Tison, 1999) in light of the anatomic and physiological correlates presented by Sarnat (1984, 1989, 2003).
  5. Awareness of pitfalls related to deformations and muscle shortenings arising from abnormal postures; prevention of those deformations is important for the child’s future functional skills, but also for the accuracy of the neurological assessment (Grenier, 1995).
  6. Integration of cranial data as an indispensable component of the systematic neurological assessment (Amiel-Tison and Stewart, 1995; Amiel-Tison et al, 2002).
  7. Description of the specific procedures for administration and scoring (Amiel-Tison and Stewart, 1989; Amiel-Tison and Gosselin, 1998) applicable to the evaluation both at 40 weeks of gestation (term) (Amiel-Tison, 2002; Gosselin et al., 2005) and up to 6 years of age (Amiel-Tison and Gosselin, 2007; Amiel-Tison and Gosselin, 2011), thus avoiding any methodological rupture in the course of follow-up of young children cohorts.
  8. Proposal for a classification based on absence or presence of clusters of signs, reflecting the complete spectrum of neuromotor abnormalities at this age (Gosselin et al., 2002; Amiel-Tison and Gosselin, in press) .
  9. Identification of neurocranial clues between perinatal causes and late neurocognitive dysfunctions (Amiel-Tison et al, 1996; Amiel-Tison and Stewart, 1995; Couture, 2005; Gosselin et al., 2002, 2006, Simard et al, 2010,2011; Amiel-Tison and Gosselin, in press).

The proposed evaluation is therefore the result of successive stages in the elaboration of a fairly simple clinical assessment, i.e an assessment wich cannot be reduced much further. In its current form, it is easy to integrate into daily practice.

One method, three instruments

Three instruments were developed using the same conceptual framework in order to assess children in the following three periods, each of which requires an evaluation method appropriate to the maturation stage. This methodological continuity is highly valuable in follow-up studies.

Maturative waves, mainly upward during preterm period and then downward from term with an overlap around 40 SA, enable us to identify three important periods which correspond to three distinct instruments:

  • Amiel-Tison maturation assessment in preterm infants (area 1 on figure) : The first version dates from 1968 (Amiel-Tison, 1968). Thereafter, it was gradually simplified into a single 10-item chart, including active muscle tone, passive muscle tone and primary reflexes (Amiel-Tison, 2001, 2005). This form offers maturational profiles every two weeks, taking into account the vertical alignment of all responses. This assessment is not always feasible in the newborn intensive care unit, but it can be done later at 40 weeks corrected age.
  • Amiel-Tison neurological assessment at term (area 2 on figure) : The period of the term is known as a period of ” physiological spasticity” (Sarnat, 1984), during which the lower motor control system is strongly expressed (quadriflexion of limbs, vigorous primary reflexes); but for the clinician, it is mainly a period where the upper motor control system is starting to control antigravity forces through the action of its body axis flexors. To demonstrate this, the “raise-to-sit” and “back-to-lying” maneuver is essential to analyze the perfect balance of active head movement forward and backward in response to the manipulation of the trunk by the examiner. A scoring system is used with scores 0, 1 and 2 for each observation or maneuver (Amiel-Tison, 2002, 2005). At the end of this basic examination, it is possible either to confirm the neurological optimality or highlight a cluster of abnormalities in the newborn at term or in a preterm infant between 38 and 42 weeks corrected age.
  • Amiel-Tison and Gosselin Neurological assessment from 0 to 6 years (area 3 on figure) : This assessment is at the core of our method of neurological assessment and lies in continuity with the previous two. From 0 to 2 years, the maturation speed of the upper motor control system is so fast that the normal values ​​of responses vary by 3-month periods during the first year (progressive relaxation) and then more slowly, every 6 months during the second year. From 2 to 6 years, an annual review is sufficient.

An effort was made to ensure consistency between the three instruments, same rating system and same approach for the analysis of results. For some items, the expected response is the same regardless of the age of the child being evaluated; for others, the criteria of normality and abnormality differ during the first 2 years of life to reflect the rapid changes associated with brain maturation. Additionally, although several items are similar for all three instruments, some neuromotor aspects are specific to a particular one: for example, crossed extension reflex is only useful for the preterm period; and postural reactions such as the parachute are not sought in the first 6 months because they are not yet present.

Leave a Reply

Introduction

Un nombre non négligeable de nouveau-nés sont à risque de problèmes de développement du fait d’une grossesse compliquée par différents problèmes de santé de la mère ou du fœtus ou encore des complications durant l’accouchement ou dans les jours qui suivront. L’insuffisance utéroplacentaire fait partie du registre de ces pathologies périnatales susceptibles d’entraîner des dommages cérébraux de nature hypoxique-ischémique et donc d’interférer avec le développement de l’enfant. Quelle que soit la pathologie périnatale à l’origine des phénomènes hypoxiques ischémiques, les problèmes de développement qui en découlent peuvent être regroupés en deux grandes catégories selon leur sévérité et leur moment d’émergence :

  • troubles sévères, d’émergence habituellement précoce : paralysie cérébrale, troubles sensoriels, déficience intellectuelle, épilepsie
  • troubles mineurs et modérés, d’émergence plus tardive : troubles du langage et/ou de la coordination motrice, troubles de l’apprentissage, difficultés visuo-spatiales, déficit de l’attention, troubles du comportement.

Les troubles sévères sont les moins nombreux, ils sont identifiés habituellement dans les deux premières années de la vie. Les troubles mineurs et modérés sont largement plus prévalents ; ils deviennent apparents à l’âge préscolaire ou même scolaire lorsque les exigences dans les performances augmentent progressivement. En effet, ils font appel à des fonctions supérieures dont la maturation et l’organisation se font plus tardivement.   Dans la pratique courante du suivi de ces enfants, le clinicien se retrouve souvent dans une situation d’attente, particulièrement en regard des pathologies du développement d’expression plus tardive. Les tests de développement et les évaluations fonctionnelles permettent d’affirmer ou d’infirmer la présence d’habiletés spécifiques en fonction de l’âge de l’enfant. Cependant ces outils sont insuffisamment performants en bas âge pour prédire les problèmes à venir.   C’est pour pallier cette difficulté méthodologique que nous proposons l’utilisation de l’évaluation neurologique. En effet, les signes dont elle permet la mise en évidence sont à la fois d’émergence précoce et persistants. Ils constituent donc des marqueurs permettant d’établir un lien entre évènements périnatals et difficultés de développement ultérieures. Ils permettent également d’instituer une intervention précoce ciblée, dans une politique d’anticipation et non de constat tardif.    Dans le contexte de l’étude PIAF et plus largement de n’importe quel suivi d’enfants à risque, nous recommandons l’utilisation combinée de l’évaluation neurologique et d’un test de développement tel le Bayley’s Scales of Infant Development – III. Une telle approche permet d’identifier à la fois les enfants présentant des problèmes de développement sévères et ceux dont les marqueurs neurocrâniens recueillis les placent dans un groupe à risque élevé de problèmes mineurs ou modérés d’émergence plus tardive. Des résultats de recherche récents donnent aux signes neurocrâniens de degré mineur ou modéré la valeur de fil conducteur entre évènements périnatals et pathologie du développement.

Diversité des méthodes cliniques d’exploration de la fonction cérébrale

Un très grand nombre de méthodes d’évaluation neurologique ont été proposées. Quelques unes de ces méthodes s’intéressent davantage à l’aspect neurocomportemental et documentent principalement les capacités d’autorégulation et d’adaptation de l’enfant en bas âge. D’autres sont axées sur une analyse méticuleuse de la motricité de l’enfant. Ces méthodes ont donc l’inconvénient d’une approche partielle de la fonction cérébrale. Elles ont également l’inconvénient d’être restreintes à une strate d’âge spécifique. En conséquence, dans le contexte d’un suivi, un changement de méthode sera inévitable ; ce changement est susceptible d’entraîner des difficultés d’interprétation des trajectoires de développement.

L’approche que nous proposons, l’Évaluation neurologique de la naissance à 6 ans d’Amiel-Tison et Gosselin, analyse de façon assez large l’ensemble de la fonction cérébrale dès la période néonatale et ce jusqu’à l’âge de 6 ans. Une telle approche assure la continuité méthodologique en cours de suivi et facilite donc l’interprétation d’examens répétés. Cette évaluation met l’accent sur l’exploration du tonus axial, passif et actif (en particulier dans l’évaluation autour de l’âge du terme), ainsi que la recherche d’une spasticité. Elle comporte également une appréciation de la croissance crânienne basée non seulement sur la mesure du périmètre crânien, mais aussi sur l’examen des sutures crâniennes. Ce n’est donc pas un simple examen physique, ni une évaluation développementale.

Aspects historiques de la méthode

Cet instrument 0-6 a une histoire. Établi initialement sur la conception d’André-Thomas concernant le tonus musculaire et la méthode d’évaluation analytique du tonus musculaire passif au niveau des membres proposée par ses successeurs (Stamback et de Ajuriaguerra, 1958; Saint-Anne Dargassies, 1982), il s’est enrichi au cours des années. Les étapes successives qui ont mené à l’évaluation présentée ici peuvent être résumées de la façon suivante :

  1. Identification des différents aspects du tonus axial chez les enfants normaux et pathologiques (Amiel-Tison, 1974 ; Amiel-Tison, et al, 1977).
  2. Description didactique de chaque item retenu et interprétation des résultats en fonction de la maturation neurologique dans la première année de vie, avec l’utilisation d’une première grille de cotation permettant un suivi mensuel du jeune enfant (Amiel-Tison, 1976, Amiel-Tison et Grenier, 1980, 1985).
  3. Distinction conceptuelle entre anomalies neurologiques associées à une lésion cérébrale et retentissement fonctionnel évoluant avec la maturation (Amiel -Tison et Stewart, 1989).
  4.  Interprétation des résultats normaux et anormaux (Amiel-Tison, 1999) à la lumière des données anatomiques et physiologiques résumées par Sarnat (1984, 1989, 2003).
  5. Prise en considération des pièges liés aux déformations et raccourcissements secondaires aux postures anormales ; intérêt de les prévenir pour l’avenir fonctionnel de l’enfant, mais aussi pour l’exactitude des conclusions neurologiques (Grenier, 1995).
  6. Intégration des données crâniennes à titre de composante indispensable dans l’évaluation neurologique systématique (Amiel-Tison et Stewart, 1995 ; Amiel-Tison et al, 2002).
  7. Définition d’une procédure de cotation (Amiel-Tison et Stewart, 1989 ; Amiel-Tison et Gosselin, 1998) applicable tant au nouveau-né autour du terme (Amiel-Tison, 2002 ; Gosselin et al., 2005) qu’à l’enfant jusqu’à l’âge de 6 ans (Gosselin et Amiel-Tison, 2007 ; Amiel-Tison et Gosselin, 2011), évitant ainsi toute rupture dans la méthodologie de suivi des cohortes de jeunes enfants.
  8. Proposition d’une catégorisation définie selon la présence ou l’absence de regroupements de signes reflétant le spectre complet des anomalies neuromotrices rencontrées à cet âge de la vie (Gosselin et al., 2002,; Amiel-Tison et Gosselin, sous-presse).
  9. Confirmation de l’hypothèse d’un fil conducteur neurologique entre les causes périnatales et les dysfonctionnements neurocognitifs tardifs (Amiel-Tison et Gosselin, sous presse; Amiel-Tison et al, 1996; Amiel-Tison et Stewart, 1995; Couture, 2005; Gosselin et al., 2002, 2006 ; Simard et al, 2010,2011).

L’évaluation proposée constitue donc l’aboutissement d’une série d’étapes qui ont mené à la conception d’un instrument clinique assez simple ne pouvant guère être réduit davantage. Sous sa forme actuelle, il est facile à intégrer dans la pratique quotidienne.

Une méthode, trois outils

Trois instruments ont été développés selon le même cadre conceptuel puisque chacune de ces trois périodes nécessite une méthode d’évaluation adaptée au stade de maturation; cette continuité méthodologique est précieuse pour l’évaluation du devenir dans une population de nouveau-nés.

  1. Évaluation de la maturation d’Amiel-Tison chez le prématuré. (figure 2, zone 1) : La première version date de 1968 (Amiel-Tison, 1968). Par la suite, elle a été progressivement simplifiée pour aboutir à une seule table comprenant 10 items, intégrant à la fois tonus actif, tonus passif et réflexes primaires (Amiel-Tison, 2001, 2005). Cette table est présentée selon des profils maturatifs à intervalle de deux semaines, tenant compte de l’alignement vertical de l’ensemble des réponses. L’examen n’est pas toujours faisable chez le nouveau-né en unité de soins intensifs, il peut être fait plus tard, en âge corrigé.
  2. Évaluation neurologique à terme d’Amiel-Tison (figure 2, zone 2) : La période du terme est celle de la « spasticité physiologique » (Sarnat, 1984), période pendant laquelle le système inférieur s’exprime vigoureusement (quadriflexion des membres, réflexes primaires très vifs) ; mais pour le clinicien, c’est surtout celle où le système supérieur commence à manifester son contrôle en tempérant la posture antigravitaire par l’action du plan des fléchisseurs de l’axe corporel. Pour le démontrer, la manoeuvre du tiré-assis et retour est la manoeuvre essentielle permettant d’analyser l’équilibre parfait du mouvement actif de la tête vers l’avant et vers l’arrière, en réponse aux mouvements imprimés au tronc par l’examinateur. Une grille d’examen avec des scores 0, 1 et 2 pour chaque observation ou manoeuvre est proposée (Amiel-Tison, 2002, 2005). Au terme de cet examen réduit à l’essentiel, il est possible soit d’affirmer l’optimalité neurologique, soit de mettre en évidence un groupement d’anomalies chez le nouveau-né à terme ou encore chez l’ancien prématuré entre 38 et 42 semaines d’âge corrigé.
  3. Évaluation neurologique d’Amiel-Tison et Gosselin de 0 à 6 ans (figure 2, zone 3) : Cet examen est en continuité avec les deux précédents. De 0 à 2 ans, la maturation du système supérieur est encore si rapide que les valeurs normales des réponses changent par périodes de 3 mois au cours de la première année (relaxation progressive) puis, plus lentement, chaque 6 mois au cours de la deuxième année. De 2 à 6 ans, un examen annuel est suffisant.
Figure 2: Maturation neuromotrice   (tirée de Gosselin et Amiel-Tison (2007). Évaluation neurologique de la naissance à 6 ans. Montréal/Paris: Éditions Ste-Justine/Elsevier.)

Un effort a été fait afin qu’il y ait cohérence dans la méthode d’évaluation, le système de cotation et l’analyse des réponses obtenues. Pour certains items, la réponse attendue demeure la même quel que soit l’âge de l’enfant évalué ; pour d’autres, les critères définissant normalité et anormalité diffèrent au cours des 2 premières années de vie pour tenir compte des changements rapides liés à la maturation cérébrale. De plus, bien que plusieurs items soient les mêmes pour les trois outils, certains aspects neuromoteurs sont spécifiques à un seul des outils : par exemple, le réflexe d’allongement croisé n’est utile que pour la période préterme ; les réactions posturales telles que le parachute ne sont pas cherchées dans les 6 premiers mois puisqu’elles ne sont pas présentes. 

Laisser un commentaire